Departmental Excellence & Innovation in Undergraduate Teaching Award

Sponsored by the Lilly-CTE Teaching Fellows, the Center for Teaching Excellence,
and the Office of Undergraduate Studies

The Departmental Excellence & Innovation in Undergraduate Teaching Award honors a department's commitment to and accomplishments in improving undergraduate education. Departmental Excellence & Innovation in Undergraduate Teaching Awards recognize notable improvements and accomplishments in undergraduate education at the department or program level. Applications should highlight a current initiative or programmatic or curricular improvement that has made a positive impact on student learning and the quality of undergraduate education in the last two or three years. More specifically, applicants should describe how the department addressed a problem and how the initiative or improvement was the result of a combined effort of those in the unit. The efforts of individual members of a unit are not eligible for Departmental Excellence & Innovation in Undergraduate Teaching Awards. For examples of the type of work that has received recognition in recent years click here The Office of Undergraduate Studies provide a $5,000 award


Any campus department, program, or interdepartmental program can apply for the award

Click Here to Nominate your department or program


Please apply online using the link provided above. In this application, you will be asked to submit two letters of no more than two pages each to the Center for Teaching Excellence. The first letter should describe the project or initiative-which must extend beyond an individual course or academic year-and how it has improved undergraduate learning. A second letter, from the appropriate unit head (chair or dean), should describe the unit's support for the initiative or improvement. Based on the information that you provide, we will send an automated email to the designated individual with a unique URL asking them to upload their letter of support.


All Materials are due COB Friday Mar 29th.


If you have questions, please contact Dr. Stephen Roth (

For any technical problems with this webpage or application process, please contact the webmaster at

List of Department Recipients Since 2003
List of All Departments Who Have Received the Award Since 1995

Site Administration

2301 Marie Mount Hall, College Park,
Maryland 20742, Tel: 301-405-9356